Oh look! A new post!

17 Jun

Hi there. Remember me? I do fun stuff and make delicious food and (very occasionally) blog about it.

 

*Blows dust off the LB*

 

You may have noticed that it’s been pretty quiet around here. Or maybe you haven’t. There was really no reason for you to come here and notice how quiet it’s been.

We’re almost at the one year anniversary of the LB and, I admit, it’s been a bit neglected for the last six months. Okay, really terribly neglected. Like the Total Gym you bought after watching that infomercial at 2am and swore you’d use three times a week. (Chuck Norris is so persuasive!)

What can I say? Life has been busy! Since the beginning of the year I became an auntie for the third time, I’ve taken two more writing classes, and I started a new job. I could go on and on but you’re not here to read my excuses. You want awesome stuff.

I hope that this post will be the first in a long line of (probably very sporadic) posts about awesome stuff. The plan, as before, is to practise writing and to share some cool things with my loyal readers (all four of you)!

 

Smile

Smile! It’s a new blog post!

 

I wanted to (re)start on the right foot, so I took last Friday off work to focus on the blog.

No, not really. That would be silly.

I took Friday off work because I had a helicopter flight to catch from Victoria Harbour to YVR at 7pm. Obviously, in order to catch said flight, I had to be in Victoria. Which meant I had to spend the day wandering around doing awesome things in Victoria. Life is rough sometimes.

Since I had over 5 hours between my brunch at Jam Cafe (full disclosure: this was another reason I had to go to Victoria for the day) and my flight, I brought my camera along to help me pass the time. But I’ve found that it’s easy to wander around aimlessly and be disappointed with my photos at the end of the day, so I wanted to have a plan.

 

My walking route

My walking route

 

Enter the photo challenge. A typical photo challenge involves taking one photo per day for a month. Each day has a different theme. With the whole afternoon to kill, I figured I could easily take on a whole month’s worth of photo themes in one day. As it turns out, I can take a few months’ worth of photos in one day.

The photo challenge gave me a real sense of purpose and I am so pleased with the results that I wanted to share them with you here.

Click on any thumbnail to open a slideshow and enjoy! The themes are noted in the caption.

If you can swing it, I highly recommend hopping on Helijet to get over to the island. It’s really a lovely way to travel and the pilots are terribly handsome. And while you’re in the capital, you may as well get some brunch at Jam Cafe. The food is delicious and the staff are friendly and helpful (even if it takes you half an hour to decide what to get).

 

 

 

© 2013 C Chisholm Communications.
All rights reserved.

4 Responses to “Oh look! A new post!”

  1. Lena June 18, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    I loved that! Great pics 🙂

  2. Holly June 18, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

    I wish I could have come along! Seems like it was a good day!

  3. WhereLandMeetsTheSea June 18, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    Very nice!! Sounds like a fun day 🙂

  4. Lori D June 19, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    Oh man! Those are great shots my friend! You’re so good! I’m so glad you added to your blog! Love it and keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

