Sometimes you just need to go to the beach

12 Aug

It’s another perfect summer weekend in Vancouver and, despite neglecting housework, homework, and this blog all week, I decided Saturday had to be a beach day. Not one to shirk my responsibilities entirely, I did spend a couple (agonizing) hours indoors working on some homework. My reward was a glorious afternoon lazing in the sun at Jericho beach. I had my book, a blanket, some salsa and home-made guacamole for snacking, and nowhere to be.

 

People watching is one of my all time favourite activities and there is always lots to see on a summer day at the beach. I saw muscle-heads with their surgically enhanced girlfriends, all kinds of families with young kids, oblivious people focused entirely on their electronic devices, folks playing volleyball, and dudes with guitars.

The breeze kept the temperature reasonable and the sun made everything sparkle. The water was refreshing and surprisingly warm (up to the knees anyway). In short, it was a perfect way to spend the afternoon.

Click on any of the images below to open the gallery in a slideshow…

 

As I made my way off the beach to find something for dinner, I heard the sharp blast of a horn—a trumpet, to be specific―so I made my way over to the picnic area where I found a five-piece mariachi band (Los Dorados) serenading a group of picnickers. Judging from the decorations hanging in the trees, the occasion was a 60th/30th birthday party and the music had kicked the celebration into full swing. You just never know what you’re going to come across when you hit the beach for a sunny afternoon of summer slacking 🙂

The memory on my phone ran out about 5 seconds before the end of the song, but you get the idea. It was festive!

 

 


 

© 2013 C Chisholm Communications.
All rights reserved.

2 Responses to “Sometimes you just need to go to the beach”

  1. Colette August 12, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    I will take your advise and go to the beach tomorrow. We have an inland ocean here in Manitoba – we call it Lake Winnipeg and I will head to the east side of that lake tomorrow to the Icelandic town of Gimli.

  2. Colette August 12, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    opps make that west side – where is my darn compass????

Leave a Reply

