A Weekend of Olympic Proportions

27 Jul

The 2012 Olympic Summer Games begin in London today and, to commemorate the occasion, I’ve got my own triathlon-style weekend planned. It will involve hiking, swimming, and cycling and although I probably won’t receive any medals, there is a real possibility that I will be unable to walk by Monday.

If you know me, you know that I am a fairly active person. I spend most afternoons at the gym, either at the office or the community centre. If there’s a cardio machine and some free floor space, it’ll work for my (almost) daily routine.

But once summer hits, breaking a sweat indoors becomes tedious and I yearn to bust out into the daylight and fill my burning lungs with fresh air.

 

The Event Schedule

This weekend, I’m going to summon my Olympic spirit, get outside, and push my body to the limit. Here’s the event schedule:

Friday: Hike the Grouse Grind for the first time ever
(This may, in fact, be a terrible idea and a very painful way to start the weekend.)

Saturday: Swim with the kiddies in my brother’s pool
(Not exactly an Olympic-calibre challenge, I’m hoping this will be a “rest” day!)

Sunday: Cycle to Victoria from Swartz Bay via the Lochside Trail
(I’m told the trail is mostly flat, and I’ve done 35+ km in one day before, so it should be no big deal, right…?)

 

And now that I’ve made it official by posting it here on the LB, I guess I kind of have to actually go do it… I’ll be sure to let you all know if I survive 🙂

How are you going to take advantage of this final weekend in July?

 

Best of luck to all of our Canadian Olympic athletes competing at the Games in London, especially our flag bearer and two-time Olympic medalist in the real triathlon, Simon Whitfield!

Simon Whitfield at the 2008 Summer Olympics in Sydney

Simon Whitfield at the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing, photo courtesy of The National Post website.

 

 

© 2013 C Chisholm Communications.
All rights reserved.

One Response to “A Weekend of Olympic Proportions”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Go Play Outside « Like a loose balloon… - July 30, 2012

    […] was to get outside and get moving. I’m pleased to report that I survived my own personal Olympic Triathlon and the whole weekend was a huge success! On Friday I hiked the Grouse Grind in less than an hour, […]

Leave a Reply

