This is me, blogging.

12 Jul

To be honest, I’ve thought about starting a blog a number of times. I enjoy writing and I sometimes do interesting things that folks might enjoy reading about. (Maybe…?) I have yet to take the plunge because (a) literally everyone and their dog already has one, (b) my life definitely probably isn’t quite interesting enough to warrant one, and (c) it’s a huge commitment. You see, I’m fairly busy out in here in the world doing all those aforementioned “interesting things”.

As it happens, I’m taking a course called Writing for the Web as part of the Technical Writing Certificate program at BCIT and one of the assignments is, naturally, to create a blog. Given that little nudge, now is as good a time as any to start one.

 

How does one go about writing a “good” blog?

I check out a variety of blogs on a daily basis. But, to level with you again dear Reader, I don’t usually read them. Sure, I read some of them. The ones that are well written* and post on a variety of topics to keep things interesting. But that’s a select few.

The majority of the blogs that I view each day are food blogs. The gorgeous, mouth-watering photos draw me in and I snap up healthy recipes, using the web as my own personal cook book and fully intending to try each one. It’s not that I don’t care about the story behind the recipe, or how the writer spent the day chasing her toddler around the aquarium before she came home and made bacon arugula pizza for dinner, I just don’t have the patience to read through each one in order to get to what I’m really after: the recipe.

What kind of blog will this be?

I’d love to write a food blog, but I feel like a writing a truly great food blog is pretty much a full time job. So until someone is willing to pay me for it, I just don’t have enough extra time to try every recipe I can get my hands on, photograph each dish beautifully, and write the food blog of my dreams.

That said, with the time I can spare, I think I can put together a blog that is interesting, entertaining, visually appealing, mouth-watering, and good for a quick read. I like variety, so I’m going to try to mix things up. Each week I’ll try to post something new, including but not limited to:

  • Healthy recipes (and some not-so-healthy ones!)
  • Recaps of fun things I’ve done
  • Something to think about
  • Something to make you smile (for example, a clever somecard, funny meme, or great song).

I hope you’ll check back regularly to see what I’ve got to say… More importantly, I hope you’ll try the recipe (or come over for dinner!), enjoy the story, think about something you may not have otherwise, and smile.

— Chandra

 

*defined by the writer as: grammatically correct, funny, smart, clever, insightful, awe-inspiring, and/or beautiful.

 

 

© 2013 C Chisholm Communications.
All rights reserved.

One Response to “This is me, blogging.”

  1. Colleen July 13, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    I want home made granola right now!! Your mom gave me a recipe years ago that she made when u guys were young! I think I need to make it…..now to find it!!

Leave a Reply

