So hot. So worth it.

12 Jul

I’m sticky, sweaty, and contemplating taking my second shower of the day. Summer has finally arrived in Vancouver and I couldn’t be happier. To me, summer means long, bright days; fresh, local fruits and vegetables; weekends spent cycling or picnicking at the beach; camping under the stars; and Folk Fest. This is the good life.

Even on mild summer days my 2nd floor apartment heats up fast, as the sun sets directly into my west-facing windows. Today, with the temperature outside reaching 25°C, it is stifling. And yet, I came home from work and decided to turn on the oven. Foolish maybe, but how else was I going to make the granola that I plan to snack on while I sway to folky tunes and groove to funky beats at Jericho Beach Park this weekend? Portable, tasty snacks are a crucial element of the Folk Fest experience. Oh sure, the food vendors will have some delicious grub, and of course I plan to sample plenty of it, I’m just trying to save a penny here and a calorie there by planning ahead.

So I’ll stuff my pack with sunscreen, frozen water bottles, cut vegetables, and a sack of delicious honey and almond butter granola.

I tweaked a recipe I found at The Kitchn, seduced by the idea of a granola caked with nut butter. The result (aside from an apartment that is hotter than it otherwise would have been) is a delightfully nutty, not-too-sweet, crunchy/chewy pile of granola that I will enjoy for days.

 

Honey and Almond Butter Granola with Peanuts and Dried Fruit

 

Honey and Almond Butter Granola with Peanuts and Dried Fruit

Makes about 6 cups of granola

Ingredients

1 1/3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1 cups shelled roasted peanuts
1/2 cup hulled raw pumpkin seeds
1/2 cup wheat germ
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup packed dark brown sugar
1/2 cup natural almond butter
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/3 cup vegetable or olive oil
1/2 cup chopped dried apricots
1/2 cup chopped dried apples
1/2 cup plump raisins

Directions

  1. Heat the oven to 325°F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper. In a large bowl, combine oats, peanuts, pumpkin seeds, wheat germ, salt, cinnamon, and ginger.
  2. In a small saucepan, mix the honey and brown sugar. Bring to a simmer over medium heat, stirring constantly. Turn off the heat and stir in the almond butter and vanilla until smooth. Pour over the oat mixture. Pour in the oil, and stir thoroughly. The mixture will be chunky and rough.
  3. Spread the oat mixture evenly on the prepared baking sheet and bake for 40 minutes, stirring twice while baking. When completely cool, transfer the granola to a large bowl and add the dried fruit, tossing to combine.

 

 

Have a wonderful weekend! Oh, and in case you were wondering, the name of my blog comes from the last line of a tune by Newfoundland’s own Hey Rosetta! who will be performing on the Main Stage on Sunday night! Can’t wait!

 

P.S. For everything you need to know about Folk Fest, follow the link! See you at the beach? If you’re lucky, I’ll share some of my granola with you.

 

 

© 2013 C Chisholm Communications.
All rights reserved.

2 Responses to “So hot. So worth it.”

  1. jo July 13, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    yay, fellow blogger! I won’t be at Folk this weekend (sad choices I have to make in life) but please rock out extra hard to Dan for me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Giving the Gift of Breakfast | Like a loose balloon... - December 20, 2013

    […] written about homemade granola here once before and it is a staple in my kitchen. So fragrant, so delicious, so (mostly) healthy. This gingerbread […]

Leave a Reply

